Institute for Micro Process Engineering (IMVT)

Bifunctional hierarchically-structured porous layered systems for efficient one-step conversion of synthesis gas to fuels in microstructured reactors

  • contact:

    Klumpp, Michael

  • funding: DFG SPP 1570: Porous Media with Defined Porous Structure in Chemical Engineering - Modelling, Applications, Synthesis
  • Partner:

    Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Technical Faculty, Institute of Chemical Reaction Engineering (CRT), Erlangen, Germany

  • startdate:

    2011

  • enddate:

    2017

Through the use of nanotechnology, hierarchically structured porous layered systems will be prepared from two different catalytic materials. The systems are meant to achieve a favorable implementation of two-step reaction sequences via utilization of synergies from the local neighborhood of the two different types of active sites, as well as from merging two process steps into one. 

Project abstract

Due to the excellent heat transfer properties and low mass transport resistance, microstructured reactors provide the option to maintain optimal reaction conditions for a variety of heterogeneously catalyzed reaction, which as a consequence result in enhanced conversion and selectivity while at the same time the reactors can be compact. Such advanced reactors call for highly active catalysts and feasible concepts for their implementation.

In this project, by the example of the synthesis of liquid fuels via two-step reaction sequences, the concept of the synergetic coupling of the subsequent reaction steps on the micro scale shall be investigated. In particular, the research focuses on the direct production of dimethyl ether from synthesis gas via methanol as an intermediate. In this reaction sequence, immediate further reaction of methanol formed at site A (reaction 1) to dimethyl ether at the neighboring site B (reaction 2) yields higher conversion as for sole methanol formation at sites of type A. To achieve this, among other concepts, core-shell particles in the size range up to 150 microns and coatings of microchannels with layer thicknesses between 5-20 µm will be prepared by targeted approaches. The particles consist of a Cu/ZnO/Al2O3 as methanol ZSM-5 type for performing methanol dehydration (see figure). Double layer structures attached to a flat wall as well as multicore-shell structures in the size range of microparticles having multiple Cu/ZnO/Al2O3 cores within a common spherical ZSM-5 matrix will be studied as alternative systems.

The prepared materials will be characterized thoroughly by multiple methods to visualize their structure, morphology and chemical composition even with local resolution, and to probe their catalytic performance. Together with the kinetics of the reaction and the mass transport, these data are used to create detailed simulation models, which will be adopted to optimize the layered structures towards maximum product selectivity or yield. The target is a process as simple and as compact as possible enabling a single-stage operation at high efficiency in terms of matter and energy.

 

 

Publications

T. L. Sheppard, S. W. T. Price, F. Benzi, S. Baier, M. Klumpp, R. Dittmeyer, W. Schwieger, J.-D. Grunwaldt, In situ Multimodal 3D Chemical Imaging of a Hierarchically-Structured Core@Shell Catalyst at Work, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 139, 2017, 7855-7863, 10.1021/jacs.7b02177

Wenjin Ding, Giulia Baracchini, Michael Klumpp, Wilhelm Schwieger, Roland Dittmeyer, Adsorption Device Based on a Langatate Crystal Microbalance for High Temperature High Pressure Gas Adsorption in Zeolite H-ZSM-5        Journal of Visualized Experiments 114 (2016), 10.3791/54413

Wenjin Ding, Michael Klumpp, Hui Li, Ulrich Schygulla, Peter Pfeifer, Wilhelm Schwieger, Katja Haas-Santo, and Roland Dittmeyer, Investigation of High-Temperature and High-Pressure Gas Adsorption in Zeolite H-ZSM-5 via the Langatate Crystal Microbalance: CO2, H2O, Methanol, and Dimethyl Ether, The Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 2015, 119 (41), 23478-23485, 10.1021/acs.jpcc.5b06591

Wenjin Ding, Michael Klumpp, Seungcheol Lee, Stephanie Reuß, Shaeel A. Al-Thabaiti, Peter Pfeifer, Wilhelm Schwieger, Roland Dittmeyer, Simulation of One-Stage Dimethyl Ether Synthesis over a Core-Shell Catalyst, Chemie Ingenieur Technik, 87(6), 2015, 702-712               10.1002/cite.201400157

Seungcheol Lee, Katja Schneider, Julia Schumann, Aswani K. Mogalicherla, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Effect of metal precursor on Cu/ZnO/Al 2 O 3 synthesized by flame spray pyrolysis for direct DME production, Chemical Engineering Science, 138, 2015, 194-202, 10.1016/j.ces.2015.08.021

Wenjin Ding, Hui Li, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Crystallite-pore network model of transport and reaction of multicomponent gas mixtures in polycrystalline microporous media, Chemical Engineering Journal, Volume 254, 2014, 545-558, 10.1016/j.cej.2014.05.081

Seungcheol Lee, Tim Boeltken, Aswani K. Mogalicherla, Uta Gerhards, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Inkjet printing of porous nanoparticle-based catalyst layers in microchannel reactors, Applied Catalysis A: General, 467, 2013, 69-75, 10.1016/j.apcata.2013.07.002

Institut für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT)

Bifunktionelle hierarchisch aufgebaute poröse Schichtsysteme für effiziente einstufige Umwandlungen von Synthesegas zu Treibstoffen in Mikrostrukturreaktoren

  • Ansprechpartner:

    Klumpp, Michael

  • Förderung: Schwerpunktprogramm 1570: Poröse Medien mit definierter Porenstruktur in der Verfahrenstechnik - Modellierung, Anwendungen, Synthese
  • Partner:

    Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Technische Fakultät, Lehrstuhl für chemische Reaktionstechnik (CRT)

  • Starttermin:

    2011

  • Endtermin:

    2017

Mit Hilfe nanotechnologischer Ansätze werden hierarchisch aufgebaute poröse Schichtsysteme aus zwei verschiedenen katalytisch aktiven Materialien präpariert. Die Systeme sollen eine vorteilhafte Durchführung zweistufiger Reaktionssequenzen bewirken, indem sie Synergieeffekte aus der räumlichen Nähe der beiden verschiedenen Typen von aktiven Zentren ausnutzen und darüber hinaus zwei Verfahrensstufen kombinieren.

Projektbeschreibung

Mikrostrukturreaktoren bieten aufgrund ihrer hervorragenden Wärmeübertragungsleistung sowie der geringen Stofftransportwiderstände in Mikrokanälen für viele heterogen katalysierte Reaktionen die Aussicht, durch Einhaltung optimaler Reaktionsbedingungen höhere Ausbeuten und Selektivitäten zu erreichen, und dies bei hoher Produktivität und kompakter Bauweise. Benötigt werden hierfür hochaktive katalytische Materialien und praktikable Konzepte für deren Integration in die Mikrostrukturen.

Am Beispiel zweistufiger Reaktionssequenzen zur Umwandlung von Synthesegas in flüssige Treibstoffe soll das Konzept der synergetischen Kopplung der konsekutiven Reaktionsschritte auf der Mikroskala untersucht werden. Im Fokus steht dabei die Synthese von Dimethylether (DME) aus Synthesegas über Methanol als Zwischenprodukt. In dieser Reaktionssequenz führt die direkte Abreaktion von Methanol, welches am katalytischen Zentrum A (Reaktion 1) gebildet wurde, zu Dimethylether am katalytischen Zentrum B (Reaktion 2) zu einem höheren Umsatzgrad im Vergleich zur reinen Methanolsynthese. Hierzu werden unter anderem Kern-Schale-Katalystoren im Größenbereich bis 150 μm für den Einsatz im Mikro-Festbett und Beschichtungen in Mikrokanälen im Schichtdickenbereich von 5-20 μm synthetisiert und hergestellt. Die Kern-Schale Katalysatoren bestehen dabei aus einem Methanolkatalysator-Kern (Cu/ZnO/Al2O3) sowie einer Schale aus sauren Feststoffkatalysator (Zeolith ZSM-5), welcher die DME-Bildung katalysiert.

Planare Doppelschichten und Multikern-Schale-Partikel mit mehrern Cu/ZnO/Al2O3 in einer Zeolithmatrix werden als alternative Katalysatorsysteme ebenfalls betrachtet.

Die hergestellten Katalysatoren werden neben der katalytischen Testung umfangreich mit unterschiedlichsten Analysemethoden untersucht, um – auch räumlich aufgelöst – die strukturellen und chemischen Eigenschaften aufzuklären. Die gewonnenen Daten fließen zusammen mit der Beschreibung der Kinetik des Stofftransports und der Reaktionen in detaillierte Simulationsmodelle ein, um Informationen über das optimale Katalysatordesign hinsichtlich maximalem Produktausbeute und -selektivität ableiten zu können und so die strukturellen und katalytischen Parameter nach den Vorgaben von Simulationsrechnungen gezielt einzustellen. Angestrebt wird eine möglichst einfache, einstufige Verfahrensführung, maximale Kompaktheit des Reaktors und eine hohe Stoff- und Energieeffizienz der Umwandlung.

 

 

Veröffentlichungen

T. L. Sheppard, S. W. T. Price, F. Benzi, S. Baier, M. Klumpp, R. Dittmeyer, W. Schwieger, J.-D. Grunwaldt, In situ Multimodal 3D Chemical Imaging of a Hierarchically-Structured Core@Shell Catalyst at Work, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 139, 2017, 7855-7863, 10.1021/jacs.7b02177

Wenjin Ding, Giulia Baracchini, Michael Klumpp, Wilhelm Schwieger, Roland Dittmeyer, Adsorption Device Based on a Langatate Crystal Microbalance for High Temperature High Pressure Gas Adsorption in Zeolite H-ZSM-5        Journal of Visualized Experiments 114 (2016), 10.3791/54413

Wenjin Ding, Michael Klumpp, Hui Li, Ulrich Schygulla, Peter Pfeifer, Wilhelm Schwieger, Katja Haas-Santo, and Roland Dittmeyer, Investigation of High-Temperature and High-Pressure Gas Adsorption in Zeolite H-ZSM-5 via the Langatate Crystal Microbalance: CO2, H2O, Methanol, and Dimethyl Ether, The Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 2015, 119 (41), 23478-23485, 10.1021/acs.jpcc.5b06591

Wenjin Ding, Michael Klumpp, Seungcheol Lee, Stephanie Reuß, Shaeel A. Al-Thabaiti, Peter Pfeifer, Wilhelm Schwieger, Roland Dittmeyer, Simulation of One-Stage Dimethyl Ether Synthesis over a Core-Shell Catalyst, Chemie Ingenieur Technik, 87(6), 2015, 702-712               10.1002/cite.201400157

Seungcheol Lee, Katja Schneider, Julia Schumann, Aswani K. Mogalicherla, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Effect of metal precursor on Cu/ZnO/Al 2 O 3 synthesized by flame spray pyrolysis for direct DME production, Chemical Engineering Science, 138, 2015, 194-202, 10.1016/j.ces.2015.08.021

Wenjin Ding, Hui Li, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Crystallite-pore network model of transport and reaction of multicomponent gas mixtures in polycrystalline microporous media, Chemical Engineering Journal, Volume 254, 2014, 545-558, 10.1016/j.cej.2014.05.081

Seungcheol Lee, Tim Boeltken, Aswani K. Mogalicherla, Uta Gerhards, Peter Pfeifer, Roland Dittmeyer, Inkjet printing of porous nanoparticle-based catalyst layers in microchannel reactors, Applied Catalysis A: General, 467, 2013, 69-75, 10.1016/j.apcata.2013.07.002