Preparation and characterization of mechanical property and permeability of 3D printed composite porous material

  • chair:
  • place:

    Bachelor's/Master's Thesis

  • institute:

    IMVT

  • starting date:

    a.s.a.p.

  • Kontaktperson:

    Xie, Dongxu

Motivation

In chemical process engineering metallic porous material is a kind of support for membrane and catalyst. Using conventional methods such as tape casting and sintering of metal particles, the geometry of porous substrates is restricted to planar or tubular. However, advanced geometries of the porous material such as microchannels with porous walls etc. are promising for intensifying chemical processes by adapting e.g. the flow profile to the needs of the application.

In addition, for any practical applications, porous structures have to be combined with dense metallic parts, e.g. the chemical reactor wall. The combination of porous and dense structures requires additional process steps such as laser beam welding/brazing which may destroy the porous structure because of excessive energy input. A potential way to simplify the process is using 3D printing – e.g. selective laser melting (SLM) – to print porous structures of advanced geometries and dense structures at same time.

However, to the best of our knowledge, there is no systematic study on the combination of dense and porous part by SLM of metallic powder. At IMVT first promising results on the combination of porous and dense parts realized within single printed pieces were achieved by systematically adjusting several printing parameters. The objective of this thesis is to correlate certain printing parameters to the properties of the resulting porous structure in terms of mean pore size and their distribution, mechanical strength and outer surface properties.

 

 

Tasks

This work includes following tasks:

  • Literature research on 3D printing porous structure, characterization of porous material, simulation models of porous structure and analysis of the permeation data;

  • Investigation of the relation between 3D printing parameters (Scan direction, modification, lens position, hatch distance) and mechanical and porous properties. Therefore test specimen will be printed by selective laser melting (SLM) with systematically varied printing parameters. The specimen will be characterized by means of

    • Morphology (e.g. SEM, 3D profilometry)

    • Permeation (permeation test set-up)

    • Mechanical properties (tensile, bending and shearing test at a neighboring institute) 

  • Based on the data obtained, structural parameters such as porosity, pore size (distribution) will be deduced by adapting correlations from literature (e.g. Kozeny-Carman) and – if applicable – correlated to the printing process parameters

 

The progress of this work will be regularly discussed within the two-weekly meeting of the group “catalytically active coatings” and with the examinator Prof. R. Dittmeyer. After 50% of the thesis work, a half time presentation in the CCT group meeting is expected. The final results of the work are to be presented within the seminar at IMVT (20/30 minutes oral presentation for BSc/MSc) and by a written thesis not exceeding 40 pages for bachelor thesis or 60 pages for master thesis (excluding appendix).

 

Requirements

Knowledge in chemical engineering or material science.

Duration: 3 months for bachelor thesis and 6 months for master thesis

Starting date: a.s.a.p.

Examiner: Prof. Dr. Roland Dittmeyer

Supervisor: M.Sc. Dongxu Xie

Contact:  dongxu xieJpg7∂kit edu      Tel. +49 (0)721 -/608-26817

Vorbereitung und Charakterisierung der mechanischen Eigenschaften und Permeabilität von 3D gedruckten, porösen Verbundwerkstoffen

  • Stellenausschreibung:
  • Stellenart:

    Bachelor-/Masterarbeit

  • Institut:

    IMVT

  • Eintrittstermin:

    Ab sofort

  • Kontaktperson:

    Xie, Dongxu

Motivation

In der chemischen Verfahrenstechnik wird metallisches poröses Material als eine Art Trägermaterial für Membranen und Katalysatoren verwendet. Mit konventionellen Verfahren wie dem Foliengießen und Sintern der Metallpartikeln ist die Geometrie poröser Stoffe auf platt- oder rohrförmige Stoffe beschränkt. Allerdings sind fortgeschrittene Geometrien des porösen Materials vielversprechend um Eigenschaften an die Anforderungen der jeweiligen der Anwendung anzupassen und chemische Prozesse somit zu verbessern. Ein Bespiel hierfür sind Mikrokanäle mit porösen Wänden im Strömungseigenschaften gezielt zu steuern.

 

Darüber hinaus müssen für alle praktischen Anwendungen poröse Strukturen mit dichten Metallteilen, wie der Wand des Chemiereaktors, kombiniert werden. Die Kombination von porösen und dichten Strukturen erfordert zusätzliche Prozessschritte, wie das Laserstrahlschweißen/Hartlöten, die die poröse Struktur aufgrund eines übermäßigen Energieeintrags zerstören können. Ein vielversprechender Weg zur Vereinfachung des Prozesses ist der 3D-Druck - z.B. das selektive Laserschmelzen (SLM) -, um poröse Strukturen mit fortgeschrittenen Geometrien und dichten Strukturen auf einmal zu drucken.

 

Unserer Recherche nach, gibt es jedoch keine systematische Forschung über die Kombination von dichtem und porösem Teil durch SLM der metallischen Pulver. Am Institut für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT) wurden erste vielversprechende Ergebnisse bei der Kombination von porösen und dichten Teilen, die in einzelnen Druckstücken realisiert wurden, durch systematische Anpassung der Druckparameter erzielt. Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, bestimmte Druckparameter mit den Eigenschaften der resultierenden porösen Struktur in Bezug auf die mittlere Porengröße und deren Verteilung, die mechanische Festigkeit und die äußeren Oberflächeneigenschaften zu korrelieren.

 

 

Aufgaben

Diese Arbeit umfasst folgende Aufgaben:

  • Literaturrecherche zum 3D-Drucken von porösen Strukturen, Charakterisierung von porösen Materialien, Simulationsmodelle von porösen Strukturen und Analyse der Permeationsdaten;

  • Untersuchung des Zusammenhangs zwischen 3D-Druckparametern (Scanrichtung, Modifikation, Linsenposition, Linienabstand) und mechanischen und porösen Eigenschaften. Dazu wird der Probekörper durch selektives Laserschmelzen (SLM) mit systematisch variierten Druckparametern gedruckt. Die Probe wird gekennzeichnet durch

    • Morphologie (z.B. REM, 3D-Profilometrie)

    • Permeation (Aufbau des Permeationsversuchs)

    • Mechanische Eigenschaften (Zug-, Biege- und Scherversuche an einem benachbarten Institut)
  • Basierend auf den gewonnenen Daten werden Strukturparameter wie Porosität, Porengröße (Verteilung) durch Anpassung von Korrelationen aus der Literatur (z.B. Kozeny-Carman) abgeleitet und ggf. mit den Druckverfahrensparametern korreliert.

 

 

Der Prozess dieser Arbeiten wird regelmäßig im Rahmen der zweiwöchentlichen Sitzung der Gruppe "catalytically active coatings" und mit dem Prüfer Prof. R. Dittmeyer diskutiert. Nach 50% der Abschlussarbeit wird eine Halbzeit-Präsentation in der CCT-Gruppensitzung erwartet. Die finalen Arbeitsergebnisse werden im Rahmen des Seminars am IMVT (20/30 Minuten mündliche Präsentation für den BSc/MSc) und durch eine schriftliche Arbeit von maximal 40 Seiten für die Bachelorarbeit bzw. 60 Seiten für die Masterarbeit (ohne Anhang) präsentiert.

 

 

Anforderungen

Kenntnisse in Chemieingenieurwesen oder Materialwissenschaften.

Dauer: 3 Monate für die Bachelorarbeit und 6 Monate für die Masterarbeit

Anfangsdatum: Ab sofort

Prüfer: Prof. Dr. Roland Dittmeyer

Betreuer: M.Sc. Dongxu Xie

Kontakt: dongxu xieBfa8∂kit edu       Tel. +49 (0)721 -/608-26817