Experimental investigation of the performance of different micro reactor technologies for the production of sugar derivatives in the food industry

  • chair:
  • place:

    Bachelor's Thesis / Student Assistant

  • institute:

    IMVT

  • starting date:

    by arrangement

  • Kontaktperson:

    Claramunt, Sara

  • Download this job offer as PDF

     

    Background and motivation

    In the food and beverage industry, some sugar derivatives are used to increase fiber content or as a bulking agent and texturizer in food products. The production of these sugar derivatives  in industrial stirred batch reactors presents many disadvantages like the appearance of temperature and concentration gradients within the reactor and an unfavourable residence time ratio.

     

     

    Previous investigations showed that this reversible reaction can be conducted with a high yield and selectivity in micro reactors at high temperatures. By removing water from the reaction mixture, the equilibrium of the reaction can be shifted towards higher yields.

    Within a technology transfer project in cooperation with an international industry partner, the optimization of the micro reactor technology and the development of a novel membrane technology for the continuous removal of water during the reaction is pursued. This may allow performing the reaction in one step, reduce further equipment and increase the energy efficiency of the process.


    Topic and Tasks of the Thesis / Hiwi job

    Before including a membrane in the reactor, the most effective micro reactor technology for the production of the sugar derivatives should be determined. Two micro reactor technologies are under consideration. On the one hand a multi microchannel flat module and on the other hand, a micro reactor based on flow guiding elements, both technologies developed at the IMVT.

     

     

     

     

     

    The aim of this work is to experimentally investigate the performance of the different micro reactor technologies and draw conclusions for the suitability of the micro reactors for different reaction conditions.  
     
    The individual tasks include:

    • Literature study
    • Start-up of a pilot plant: Validation of the test stand and the measuring technique
    • Evaluation of the yield and the water amount for both reactor technologies at different reaction conditions
    • Written summary of results

     
    General Conditions

    • Students of Chemical Engineering / Process engineering / Chemistry
    • The results of the work will be presented at the institute seminar.
    • The thesis can be written in English or in German
    • Start: by arrangement

     

    Examiner: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

    Supervisor: Sara Claramunt

    Contact: sara.claramunt@kit.edu

    Tel: 0721/608-24052

Experimentelle Untersuchung der Leistung verschiedener Mikroreaktortechnologien zur Herstellung von Zuckerderivaten in der Lebensmittelindustrie

  • Stellenausschreibung:
  • Stellenart:

    Bachelorarbeit/HiWi

  • Institut:

    IMVT

  • Eintrittstermin:

    nach Absprache

  • Kontaktperson:

    Claramunt, Sara

  • Diese Stellenausschreibung als PDF downloaden

     

    Hintergrund und Motivation

    In der Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie werden Zuckerderivate eingesetzt, um den Ballaststoffgehalt von Lebensmitteln zu erhöhen. Sie finden ebenfalls Anwendung als Füllstoff, und Texturierungsmitteln in Lebensmitteln. Die Durchführung der Reaktion zur Herstellung diesen Zuckerderivaten in industriellen Rührwerksreaktoren weist viele Nachteile auf, wie z. B. das Auftreten von Temperatur- und Konzentrationsgradienten im Reaktor und ein ungünstiges Verweilzeitverhältnis.

     

     

    Bisherige Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass diese reversible Reaktion mit hoher Ausbeute und Selektivität in Mikroreaktoren bei hohen Temperaturen durchgeführt werden kann. Durch die Entfernung von Wasser aus dem Reaktionsgemisch kann das Gleichgewicht der Reaktion in Richtung höherer Umsatz verschoben werden.

    Im Rahmen eines Technologietransferprojekts in Zusammenarbeit mit einem internationalen Industriepartner wird die Optimierung der Mikroreaktortechnologie und die Entwicklung einer neuartigen Membrantechnologie zur kontinuierlichen Entfernung von Wasser während die Reaktion stattfindet. Dies kann die Durchführung der Reaktion in einem Schritt ermöglichen, weiteres Equipment reduzieren und die Energieeffizienz des Prozesses erhöhen.


    Thema und Aufgaben der Bachelorarbeit

    Vor dem Einbau einer Membran in den Reaktor, sollte die effektivste Mikroreaktortechnologie für die Produktion von Zuckerderivaten bestimmt werden. Zwei Mikroreaktor-Technologien werden in Betracht gezogen, ein mehrfach mikrokanaliges Flachmodul und ein Mikroreaktor auf Basis von Strömungsleitelementen; beide Technologien wurden am IMVT entwickelt.

     

     

     

     

     

    Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, die Leistung der verschiedenen Mikroreaktortechnologien experimentell zu untersuchen und daraus Schlussfolgerungen für die Eignung der Mikroreaktoren für unterschiedliche Reaktionsbedingungen zu ziehen.


    Aufgaben der Arbeit sind:

    • Literaturstudie
    • Inbetriebnahme einer Pilotanlage: Validierung des Prüfstandes und der Messtechnik
    • Bewertung der Umsatz und der Wasserproduktion für beide Reaktortechnologien bei unterschiedlichen Reaktionsbedingungen
    • Schriftliche Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse

     
    Rahmenbedingungen

    • Studenten der Fachrichtung Chemieingenieurwesen / Verfahrenstechnik / Chemie
    • Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit werden innerhalb eines Institutsseminars vorgetragen.
    • Die Arbeit kann in Englisch oder Deutsch verfasst werden.
    • Eintrittstermin: nach Absprache


    Aufgabensteller: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

    Betreuerin: Sara Claramunt

    Kontakt: sara.claramunt@kit.edu

    Tel: 0721/608-24052