Fabrication and characterisation of hydrophobic coatings for metallic membranes for the gas/liquid phase separation in a micro structured device

  • chair:
  • place:

    Bachelor's / Master's Thesis

  • institute:

    IMVT

  • closing date:

    by arrangement

  • Kontaktperson:

    Claramunt, Sara

  • Download this job offer as PDF

     

    Background and motivation

    The reaction to produce some sugar derivatives is a reversible reaction that can be conducted with a high yield and selectivity in micro reactors at high temperatures. By removing water from the reaction mixture, the equilibrium of the reaction can be shifted towards higher conversion. Previous investigations showed that the reaction can be run using a two-stage micro reactor process that includes an operation for water separation in-between.

    Within a technology transfer project in cooperation with an international industry partner, the development of a novel membrane technology for the continuous removal of water during the reaction is pursued. The use of membrane reactor technology may enable to combine both unit operations (chemical reaction and membrane filtration) into one device and therefore perform the process in one-step. This will reduce further equipment and increase the energy efficiency of the process.

     

    PMM Medium Pall Corporation before coating                               PE-CVD Plant at IMVT

     

    The membrane in the membrane reactor should withstand thermally, mechanically and chemically the reaction conditions. Hence, novel materials and technologies are required for the separation of water at the desired reaction conditions.

    The water should be separated in gaseous state through the pores. Due to the required high temperature conditions, porous metallic membranes are considered. The main challenge here is on the one hand the high surface energy of metallic membranes (hydrophilic behaviour) and on the other hand the surface tension of the reaction fluid and its temperature and pressure dependence. These facts lead to the wetting of the pores even for low pressure differences between feed and permeate side of the membrane. By means of specific hydrophobic coatings, the liquid penetration can be prevented.


    Topic and Tasks of the Thesis

    In order to use a membrane at the reaction conditions (high temperatures) novel membrane materials are needed which are hydrophobized. At the IMVT the Plasma Enhanced –Chemical Vapour Deposition process is available for the hydrophobization experiments.

    The aim of this work is to produce and characterize hydrophobic coatings for metallic membranes.  
     

    The individual tasks include:

    • Determination and evaluation of suitable coating materials based on a literature study.
    • Production of coatings with a PVD/CVD coating system.
    • Characterisation of the coatings: analysis of the coating at the inner surface of the pores by SEM, determination of the contact angle, determination of coating thickness, etc.


    General Conditions

    • Students of Chemical Engineering / Process engineering / Chemistry
    • Knowledge in chemical engineering required, background in material science welcome
    • The results of the work will be presented at the institute seminar.
    • The thesis can be written in English or in German
    • Start: by arrangement

     

    Examiner: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

    Supervisor: Sara Claramunt

    Contact: sara.claramunt@kit.edu Tel: 0721/608-24052

Herstellung und Charakterisierung von hydrophoben Beschichtungen für Metallmembranen zur Gas/Flüssig-Phasentrennung in einem mikrostrukturierten Bauteil

  • Stellenausschreibung:
  • Stellenart:

    Bachelor-/Masterarbeit

  • Institut:

    IMVT

  • Bewerbungsfrist:

    nach Absprache

  • Kontaktperson:

    Claramunt, Sara

  • Diese Stellenausschreibung als PDF downloaden

     

    Hintergrund und Motivation

    Die Reaktion zur Herstellung von einigen Zuckerderivaten ist eine reversible Reaktion, die mit hoher Ausbeute und Selektivität in Mikroreaktoren bei hohen Temperaturen durchgeführt werden kann. Durch die Entfernung von Wasser aus dem Reaktionsgemisch kann das Gleichgewicht der Reaktion in Richtung höherer Umsätze verschoben werden. Bisherige Untersuchungen zeigten, dass die Reaktion mit einem zweistufigen Mikroreaktorprozess durchgeführt werden kann, der dazwischen eine Grundoperation zur Wasserabscheidung beinhaltet.

    Im Rahmen eines Technologietransferprojektes in Zusammenarbeit mit einem internationalen Industriepartner wird die Entwicklung einer neuartigen Membrantechnologie zur kontinuierlichen Entfernung von Wasser während die Reaktion stattfindet. Der Einsatz der Membranreaktortechnologie kann es ermöglichen, beide Grundoperationen (chemische Reaktion und Membranfiltration) in einem Bauteil zu kombinieren und somit den Prozess in einem Schritt durchzuführen. Dies wird weiteres Equipment reduzieren und die Energieeffizienz des Prozesses erhöhen.  
     

    PMM Medium Pall Corporation vor dem Beschichten                    PE-CVD Anlage am IMVT

     

    Die Membran im Membranreaktor sollte unter den gegebenen Reaktionsbedingungen thermisch, mechanisch und chemisch beständig sein. Daher sind neue Materialien und Technologien für die Trennung von Wasser unter den gewünschten Reaktionsbedingungen erforderlich.

    Das Wasser sollte durch die Poren im gasförmigen Zustand getrennt werden. Aufgrund der erforderlichen hohen Temperatuen sind poröse metallische Membranen notwendig. Die wesentlichen Herausforderungen sind zum einen die hohe Oberflächenenergie metallischer Membranen (hydrophiles Verhalten) und zum anderen die Oberflächenspannung der Reaktionsflüssigkeit und deren Temperatur- und Druckabhängigkeit. Dies führt zur Benetzung der Poren auch bei geringen Druckdifferenzen zwischen Feed- und Permeatseite der Membran. Durch spezielle hydrophobe Beschichtungen kann das Eindringen von Flüssigkeiten verhindert werden. 


    Thema und Aufgaben der Abschlussarbeit
    Um eine Membran unter den Reaktionsbedingungen (hohe Temperaturen) einsetzen zu können, werden neue Membranmaterialien benötigt, die hydrophobiert sind. Am IMVT steht der Plasma Enhanced -Chemical Vapour Deposition (PE-CVD) Prozess für die Beschichtungsversuche zur Hydrophobierung von metallischen Oberflächen zur Verfügung. 

    Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, hydrophobe Beschichtungen für metallische Membranen herzustellen und zu charakterisieren.


    Aufgaben der Arbeit sind:

    • Ermittlung und Bewertung geeigneter Beschichtungsmaterialien und -verfahren auf Basis einer Literaturstudie
    • Herstellung von Beschichtungen mit einem PVD/CVD-Beschichtungssystem.
    • Charakterisierung der Beschichtungen: Analyse der Beschichtung an der Innenfläche der Poren durch REM, Bestimmung des Kontaktwinkels und der Schichtdicke der Beschichtung.  

     
    Rahmenbedingungen

    • Studenten der Fachrichtung Chemieingenieurwesen / Verfahrenstechnik / Chemie
    • Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit werden innerhalb eines Institutsseminars vorgetragen.
    • Die Arbeit kann in Englisch oder Deutsch verfasst werden.
    • Eintrittstermin: nach Absprache

     
    Aufgabensteller: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

    Betreuerin: Sara Claramunt

    Kontakt: sara.claramunt@kit.edu Tel: 0721/608-24052