Preparation and characterization of mechanically durable, catalytic coatings for 3D-printed flow guiding elements for the use in the direct synthesis of hydrogen peroxide

  • chair:
  • place:

    Bachelor's / Master's Thesis / Student Assistant

  • institute:

    IMVT

  • starting date:

    by arrangement

  • Kontaktperson:

    Trinkies, Laura

Background and Motivation

Hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) is an environmentally friendly oxidizing agent with promising future potential: It is estimated that the current annual production of three megatons will continue to rise to more than five megatons within the next five years. The standard process for industrial H2O2 production is the anthraquinone process. However, due to the many process steps and the limited reusability of organic anthraquinone, this process does not allow a decentralized H2O2 production.

The direct synthesis of hydrogen peroxide on the other hand is an attractive synthesis route in which both molecular hydrogen and oxygen are contacted with a heterogeneous catalyst in a single reaction step. In recent years, intensive research has been conducted on the understanding of the reaction mechanism as well as on new reactor concepts in order to achieve a knowledge-based increase in intrinsic and reactor selectivity, which currently stands in the way of the industrial implementation of this method. The reason for this is that in addition to hydrogen peroxide, water is produced thermodynamically favoured as a by-product in various subsequent and parallel reactions.

At IMVT a novel membrane microreactor is used to overcome these reaction engineering challenges. A polymer membrane allows a bubble-free dosing of the reactants H2 and O2 into the liquid reaction medium which continuously flows through the reaction channel. Due to the alternating dosage of the reactants, the hydrogen peroxide concentration is not limited by the saturation concentration of the gases, as the consumed substances are always „replenished“. At the same time, specially developed 3D-printed channel inserts, so-called flow guiding elements, enable an intensified contact of the gases with the reaction medium. At the same time, these structures serve as carriers for the required catalyst.

 

 

Figure 1: Scheme of a Fluid Guiding Element with catalytically coated surfaces [1], adapted from [2] (left), 3D-printed Fluid Guiding Element [1] (right)

 

Topic and Tasks

Within the scope of a thesis (bachelor´s or master´s thesis), a coating method is now to be developed based on preliminary investigations. The coated structures are then to be characterized and tested.

The scope (bachelor's or master's thesis) and the focus of the thesis can be defined by individual consultation. The project is addressed at students of the faculties of chemistry or chemical engineering.

 

Tasks:

  • Determination and evaluation of suitable coating materials and processes on the basis of a literature study and the results of previous investigations
  • Production of coatings
  • Characterization of the coatings: Analysis of the coating by SEM, chemisorption, physisorption and the thickness of the coating

 

Conditions:

  • Students of chemical engineering / process engineering / chemistry
  • Presentation of the results of the work within an institute seminar
  • Language: English or German

 

Start: by arrangement

Examiner: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

Supervisor: Laura Trinkies (laura.trinkies∂kit.edu)

 

Sources:

[1] Laura L. Trinkies, Benedikt J. Deschner, Edgar Hansjosten, Manfred Kraut, Roland Dittmeyer (2020). 4th Indo-German Workshop on Advances in Materials, Reaction & Separation Processes: Book of Abstracts. Berlin, 2020. Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems; Indian Institute of Technology Madras, p. 90.

[2] E. Hansjosten, A. Wenka, A. Hensel, W. Benzinger, M. Klumpp, R. Dittmeyer (2018). Chemical Engineering and Processing – Process Intensification 130, 119 – 126.

Herstellung und Charakterisierung von mechanisch beständigen, katalytischen Beschichtungen von 3D-gedruckten Strömungsleitelementen für den Einsatz in der Wasserstoffperoxid-Direktsynthese

  • Stellenausschreibung:
  • Stellenart:

    Bachelor- / Masterarbeit / Hiwi

  • Institut:

    IMVT

  • Eintrittstermin:

    nach Absprache

  • Kontaktperson:

    Trinkies, Laura

Hintergrund und Motivation

Wasserstoffperoxid (H2O2) ist ein umweltfreundliches Oxidationsmittel mit Zukunftspotential: Es wird geschätzt, dass die gegenwärtige Jahresproduktion von drei Megatonnen innerhalb der nächsten fünf Jahre auf mehr als fünf Megatonnen weiter ansteigen wird. Der Standardprozess für die industrielle H2O2-Produktion ist das Anthrachinonverfahren. Dieses Verfahren ermöglicht jedoch aufgrund der vielen Prozessstufen und der begrenzten Wiederverwendbarkeit des organischen Anthrachinons keine dezentrale H2O2-Produktion.

Im Gegensatz dazu ist die Direktsynthese von Wasserstoffperoxid ein attraktiver Syntheseweg, bei dem sowohl molekularer Wasserstoff als auch Sauerstoff mit einem heterogenen Katalysator in einem Reaktionsschritt kontaktiert werden. In den letzten Jahren wurde intensiv am Verständnis des Reaktionsmechanismus und an neuen Reaktorkonzepten geforscht, um eine wissensbasierte Erhöhung der intrinsischen und Reaktorselektivität zu erreichen, die derzeit der industriellen Umsetzung im Weg steht. Denn neben Wasserstoffperoxid entsteht, thermodynamisch begünstigt, Wasser als Nebenprodukt in verschiedenen Folge- und Parallelreaktionen.

Am IMVT wird zur Bewältigung dieser reaktionstechnischen Herausforderungen ein neuartiger Membranmikroreaktor eingesetzt. Eine Polymermembran ermöglicht eine blasenfreie Dosierung der Reaktanden H2 und O2 in das flüssige Reaktionsmedium, das den Reaktionskanal kontinuierlich durchströmt. Durch die alternierende Dosierung der Reaktanden ist die Wasserstoffperoxid-Konzentration nicht durch die Sättigungskonzentration der Gase limitiert, da die verbrauchten Stoffe stets nachgeführt werden können. Gleichzeitig ermöglichen eigens entwickelte 3D-gedruckte Kanaleinbauten, sogenannte Strömungsleitelemente, einen intensivierten Kontakt der Gase mit dem Reaktionsmedium. Gleichzeitig dienen diese Strukturen als Träger des benötigten Katalysators.

 

 

Abbildung 1: Schema eines Strömungsleitelementes mit katalytisch beschichteten Oberflächen [1], angepasst aus [2] (links), 3D-gedrucktes Strömungsleitelement [1] (rechts)

 

Thema und Aufgaben

Im Rahmen einer Abschlussarbeit (Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit) soll nun aufbauend auf Voruntersuchungen eine entsprechende Beschichtungsmethode entwickelt werden. Die beschichteten Strukturen sind im Anschluss zu charakterisieren und zu testen.

Der Umfang (Bachelorarbeit oder Masterarbeit) sowie der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit kann nach Absprache festgelegt werden. Die Arbeit richtet sich an Studierende der Fakultäten Chemie oder Chemieingenieurwesen.

 

Aufgaben der Arbeit sind:

  • Ermittlung und Bewertung geeigneter Beschichtungsmaterialien und -verfahren auf Basis einer Literaturstudie sowie der vorangegangenen Untersuchungen
  • Herstellung von Beschichtungen
  • Charakterisierung der Beschichtungen: Analyse der Beschichtung durch REM, Chemisorption, Physisorption und der Schichtdicke der Beschichtung

 

Rahmenbedingungen:

  • Studenten der Fachrichtung Chemieingenieurwesen / Verfahrenstechnik / Chemie
  • Vortrag der Ergebnisse der Arbeit innerhalb eines Institutsseminars
  • Sprache: Englisch oder Deutsch

 

Beginn: nach Absprache

Aufgabensteller: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

Betreuerin: Laura Trinkies (laura.trinkies∂kit.edu)

 

Quellen:

[1] Laura L. Trinkies, Benedikt J. Deschner, Edgar Hansjosten, Manfred Kraut, Roland Dittmeyer (2020). 4th Indo-German Workshop on Advances in Materials, Reaction & Separation Processes: Book of Abstracts. Berlin, 2020. Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems; Indian Institute of Technology Madras, p. 90.

[2] E. Hansjosten, A. Wenka, A. Hensel, W. Benzinger, M. Klumpp, R. Dittmeyer (2018). Chemical Engineering and Processing – Process Intensification 130, 119 – 126.