Direct Synthesis of H2O2: Simulation of the reactive flow over a complex fluid guiding structure using OpenFOAM®

  • chair:
  • place:

    Bachelor's / Master's Thesis

  • institute:

    IMVT

  • starting date:

    by arrangement

  • Kontaktperson:

    Trinkies, Laura

Background and Motivation

Hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) is an environmentally friendly oxidizing agent with promising future potential: It is estimated that the current annual production of three megatons will continue to rise to more than five megatons within the next five years. The standard process for industrial H2O2 production is the anthraquinone process. However, due to the many process steps and the limited reusability of organic anthraquinone, this process does not allow a decentralized H2O2 production.

The direct synthesis of hydrogen peroxide on the other hand is an attractive synthesis route in which both molecular hydrogen and oxygen are contacted with a heterogeneous catalyst in a single reaction step. In recent years, intensive research has been conducted on the understanding of the reaction mechanism as well as on new reactor concepts in order to achieve a knowledge-based increase in intrinsic and reactor selectivity, which currently stands in the way of the industrial implementation of this method. The reason for this is that in addition to hydrogen peroxide, water is produced thermodynamically favoured as a by-product in various subsequent and parallel reactions.

At IMVT a novel membrane microreactor is used to overcome these reaction engineering challenges. A polymer membrane allows a bubble-free dosing of the reactants H2 and O2 into the liquid reaction medium which continuously flows through the reaction channel. Due to the alternating dosage of the reactants, the hydrogen peroxide concentration is not limited by the saturation concentration of the gases, as the consumed substances are always „replenished“. At the same time, specially developed 3D-printed channel inserts, so-called flow guiding elements, enable an intensified contact of the gases with the reaction medium. At the same time, these structures serve as carriers for the required catalyst.

Figure 1: Scheme of a Fluid Guiding Element with catalytically coated surfaces [1] (left), 3D-printed Fluid Guiding Element [2] (right)

 

For further optimization of the system and as a basis fort he design, a detailed simulation of the reactor is needed, for the numerical mapping of the concept.

 

Topic and Tasks:

The scope (bachelor's or master's thesis) and the focus of the thesis can be defined by individual consultation. The project is addressed at students of the faculties of mechanical or chemical engineering.

 

Tasks:

  • Optimisation of the implemented boundary conditions
  • Extension of the existing model to model the re-saturation with the gaseous reactant
  • Grid generation for a detailed impression of the geometry
  • Grid-independence study
  • Parameter study to optimize the geometry
  • Validation

 

Conditions:

  • Basic knowledge of OpenFOAM®
  • Students of chemical engineering / process engineering / mechanical engineering
  • Presentation of the results of the work within an institute seminar
  • Language: English or German

 

Start: by arrangement

Examiner: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

Supervisor: Laura Trinkies (laura.trinkies∂kit.edu)

 

Institut für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT)

Leiter: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Telefon: 0721-608-23430
E-Mail: laura trinkiesYgh1∂kit edu
Web: www.imvt.kit.edu

Datum: 25.03.2021

 

Sources:
[1] Trinkies, Laura L.; Düll, Andrea; Deschner, Benedikt J.; Stroh, Alexander; Kraut, Manfred; Dittmeyer, Roland (2021): Simulation of Fluid Flow During Direct Synthesis of H 2 O 2 in a Microstructured Membrane Reactor. In: Chemie Ingenieur Technik. DOI: 10.1002/cite.202000232.

[2] Laura L. Trinkies, Benedikt J. Deschner, Edgar Hansjosten, Manfred Kraut, Roland Dittmeyer (2020). 4th Indo-German Workshop on Advances in Materials, Reaction & Separation Processes: Book of Abstracts. Berlin, 2020. Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems; Indian Institute of Technology Madras, p. 90.

H2O2-Direktsynthese: Simulation einer reaktiven Strömung an einer komplexen, strömungsleitenden Struktur mittels OpenFOAM®

  • Stellenausschreibung:
  • Stellenart:

    Bachelor- / Masterarbeit

  • Institut:

    IMVT

  • Eintrittstermin:

    nach Absprache

  • Kontaktperson:

    Trinkies, Laura

Hintergrund & Motivation

Wasserstoffperoxid (H2O2) ist ein umweltfreundliches Oxidationsmittel mit Zukunftspotential: Es wird geschätzt, dass die gegenwärtige Jahresproduktion von drei Megatonnen innerhalb der nächsten fünf Jahre auf mehr als fünf Megatonnen weiter ansteigen wird. Der Standardprozess für die industrielle H2O2-Produktion ist das Anthrachinonverfahren. Dieses Verfahren ermöglicht jedoch aufgrund der vielen Prozessstufen und der begrenzten Wiederverwendbarkeit des organischen Anthrachinons keine dezentrale H2O2-Produktion.

Im Gegensatz dazu ist die Direktsynthese von Wasserstoffperoxid ein attraktiver Syntheseweg, bei dem sowohl molekularer Wasserstoff als auch Sauerstoff mit einem heterogenen Katalysator in einem Reaktionsschritt kontaktiert werden. In den letzten Jahren wurde intensiv am Verständnis des Reaktionsmechanismus und an neuen Reaktorkonzepten geforscht, um eine wissensbasierte Erhöhung der intrinsischen und Reaktorselektivität zu erreichen, die derzeit der industriellen Umsetzung im Weg steht. Denn neben Wasserstoffperoxid entsteht, thermodynamisch begünstigt, Wasser als Nebenprodukt in verschiedenen Folge- und Parallelreaktionen.

Am IMVT wird zur Bewältigung dieser reaktionstechnischen Herausforderungen ein neuartiger Membranmikroreaktor eingesetzt. Eine Polymermembran ermöglicht eine blasenfreie Dosierung der Reaktanden H2 und O2 in das flüssige Reaktionsmedium, das den Reaktionskanal kontinuierlich durchströmt. Durch die alternierende Dosierung der Reaktanden ist die Wasserstoffperoxid-Konzentration nicht durch die Sättigungskonzentration der Gase limitiert, da die verbrauchten Stoffe stets nachgeführt werden können. Gleichzeitig ermöglichen eigens entwickelte 3D-gedruckte Kanaleinbauten, sogenannte Strömungsleitelemente, einen intensivierten Kontakt der Gase mit dem Reaktionsmedium. Gleichzeitig dienen diese Strukturen als Träger des benötigten Katalysators.

Abbildung 1: Schema eines Strömungsleitelementes mit katalytisch beschichteten Oberflächen [1] (links), 3D-gedrucktes Strömungsleitelement [2] (rechts)

 

Zur weiteren Optimierung des Systems und als Basis zur Auswahl eines geeigneten Designs, wird nun eine Reaktorsimulation benötigt, die das Konzept numerisch abbilden kann.

 

Thema und Aufgaben

Im Rahmen einer Abschlussarbeit (Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit) soll nun aufbauend auf Voruntersuchungen eine entsprechende Beschichtungsmethode entwickelt werden. Die beschichteten Strukturen sind im Anschluss zu charakterisieren und zu testen.

Der Umfang (Bachelorarbeit oder Masterarbeit) sowie der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit kann nach Absprache festgelegt werden. Die Arbeit richtet sich an Studierende der Fakultäten Maschinenbau oder Chemieingenieurwesen.

 

Aufgaben der Arbeit sind:

  • Optimierung der implementierten Randbedingungen
  • Erweiterung des existierenden Modells um eine Nachsättigung mit gasförmigem Edukt
  • Gittergenerierung zur präzisen Abbildung der Geometrie
  • Durchführung einer Gitterunabhängigkeitsstudie
  • Durchführung einer Parameterstudie zur Geometrieoptimierung
  • Validierung der Ergebnisse

 

Rahmenbedingungen:

  • Grundkenntnisse in OpenFOAM® vorhanden
  • Studenten der Fachrichtung Chemieingenieurwesen / Verfahrenstechnik / Maschinenbau
  • Vortrag der Ergebnisse der Arbeit innerhalb eines Institutsseminars (bei Abschlussarbeit)
  • Sprache: Englisch oder Deutsch

 

Beginn: nach Absprache

Betreuende: Laura Trinkies – IMVT (laura.trinkies∂kit.edu)

 

Institut für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT)

Leiter: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Dittmeyer

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Telefon: 0721-608-23430
E-Mail: laura trinkiesJfp5∂kit edu
Web: www.imvt.kit.edu

Datum: 25.03.2021

 

Quellen:

[1] Trinkies, Laura L.; Düll, Andrea; Deschner, Benedikt J.; Stroh, Alexander; Kraut, Manfred; Dittmeyer, Roland (2021): Simulation of Fluid Flow During Direct Synthesis of H 2 O 2 in a Microstructured Membrane Reactor. In: Chemie Ingenieur Technik. DOI: 10.1002/cite.202000232.

[2] Laura L. Trinkies, Benedikt J. Deschner, Edgar Hansjosten, Manfred Kraut, Roland Dittmeyer (2020). 4th Indo-German Workshop on Advances in Materials, Reaction & Separation Processes: Book of Abstracts. Berlin, 2020. Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems; Indian Institute of Technology Madras, p. 90.