Institute for Micro Process Engineering (IMVT)

Investigation of the influence of transport processes on chemical reactions in bubble flows using space-resolved in-situ analytics and simultaneous characterization of bubble dynamics in real-time

  • contact:

    Rinke, Günter

  • funding: DFG SPP 1740: The influence of Local Transport Processes on Chemical Reactions in Bubble Flows
  • Partner:

    University of Stuttgart, Institute for Parallel and Distributed Systems (IPVS), Stuttgart, Germany

  • startdate: 2014
  • enddate: 2017

By developing new experimental techniques, important contributions to an improved understanding of the interaction between hydrodynamics and chemical reactions in bubble flows shall be achieved. In this (particular) case the experimental methods are based on two systems.

Project abstract

By developing new experimental techniques, important contributions to an improved understanding of the interaction between hydrodynamics and chemical reactions in bubble flows shall be achieved. In this (particular) case the experimental methods are based on a novel Real-Time Raman-Process-Analysis-System that allows for a spatially and temporally-resolved in-situ analysis of the liquid phase in the vicinity of the simultaneously observed bubble. This system is an extension of the Real-Time-Process-Analysis-System, which was implemented by the applicant Professor Simon in another DFG-Priority-Program, and the in-situ Raman spectrometer established by Dr. Rinke, which shall be further developed here and integrated with the Real-Time-Process-Analysis-System.

With this system the kinetics of chemical reactions in relation to the bubble dynamics will be investigated in detail. In correlation with the observation of bubbles and bubble shapes, the spatially-resolved analysis yields the relevant information about the substance input. In this regard, an extensive automated analysis of bubble shapes will be conducted to measure a large number of bubbles and thereby obtain statistically meaningful results. In this project, bubbly flows, bubbles immobilized by counter-flow with and without the influence of turbulence (grid installations) as well as Taylor-flows within microchannels are to be investigated.

In order to determine the chemical composition, the Real-Time-Process-Analysis will be used to determine the local substance concentration for each laser pulse at one or more measurement points within a bubble flow at a defined point in time. To achieve this task, a complete Raman spectrum is to be recorded so that chemical reactions with complex Raman spectra can be evaluated and the Real-Time-Raman-Process-Analysis-System is used and applied in a flexible and universal way. Simultaneously with the recording of the Raman spectra, the rising bubbles, bubbles swarms and the surrounding flow field are monitored with high frame rates such as 1000 frames/s, to monitor/track the trajectory and dynamics of the observed rising bubble, e.g. to determine the measurement point or the measurement points for the Raman spectroscopy with respect to the position of the bubble in real-time. This is done by the Real-Time-Raman-Process-Analysis-System by determining the position of the bubble of each image sequence in real-time using an integrated image analysis mechanism. With respect to the experimental arrangement, the optical axis of the Real-Time-Raman-Process-Analysis-System is perpendicular to the flow direction of the bubbles in the bubble channel, so that the system can be integrated laterally in the test array and a 2D top view of the bubbles can be recorded and analyzed in real-time.

First application is the CO2 absorption. In this case, CO2 and caustic soda move as a Taylor-flow in a glass capillary with 2 mm x 2 mm inner cross section.

To measure the concentration of CO32-, its Raman line at 1080 cm-1 was used. For normalization purpose the Raman band of H2O was used. The picture shows a Raman spectrum, which was recorded with one laser pulse, only. With such spectra the concentration profiles between gas bubbles can be determined. The limit of detection for CO32- amounts to 0.07 mol/.

Institut für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT)

Untersuchung des Einflusses der Transportprozesse auf chemische Reaktionen in Blasenströmungen mittels ortsaufgelöster In-situ-Analytik und simultaner Charakterisierung der Blasendynamik in Echtzeit

  • Ansprechpartner:

    Rinke, Günter

  • Förderung: Schwerpunktprogramm 1740: Einfluss lokaler Transportprozesse auf chemische Reaktionen in Blasenströmungen
  • Partner:

    Universität Stuttgart, Institut für Parallele und Verteilte Systeme (IPVS), Stuttgart, Deutschland

  • Starttermin:

    2014

  • Endtermin:

    2017

Durch den Einsatz neuer experimenteller Methoden sollen Beiträge zum Verständnis des Zusammenspiels zwischen Hydrodynamik und chemischen Reaktionen in Blasenströmungen geleistet werden. Die experimentellen Methoden basieren hierbei auf einem neuartigen Echtzeit-Raman-Prozess-Analyse-System, das eine orts- und zeitaufgelöste chemische In-situ-Analyse der Flüssigphase in der Umgebung der simultan dazu beobachteten Blase ermöglicht.

Projektbeschreibung

Dieses System besteht aus der Erweiterung des Echtzeit-Prozess-Analyse-Systems, das von der Universität Stuttgart (IPVS) realisiert wurde und der Integration eines In-situ-Raman-Spektrometers, das von KIT/IMVT konzipiert wurde, hier weiterentwickelt und in das neue Echtzeit-Raman-Prozess-Analyse-System integriert wird.

Auf Basis des angestrebten Echtzeit-Raman-Prozess-Analyse-Systems soll die Kinetik chemischer Reaktionen in Abhängigkeit der Blasendynamik untersucht werden. Korrelierend mit der Beobachtung der Blasen und der Blasenformen ergibt die ortsaufgelöste Analyse der chemischen Reaktion die relevante Information über den Stoffeintrag. Diesbezüglich sollen umfangreiche automatisierte Analysen der Blasenformen durchgeführt werden, um eine hohe Anzahl von Blasen zu vermessen und damit statistisch aussagekräftige Ergebnisse zu erhalten. Im Rahmen dieses Projektes sollen sowohl Blasenströmungen, durch Gegenströmung immobilisierte Blasen mit und ohne Turbulenzeinfluss (Gittereinbauten) als auch Taylor-Strömungen in Mikrokanälen, untersucht werden.

Zur Bestimmung der chemischen Stoffzusammensetzung soll mit dem Echtzeit-Raman-Prozess-Analyse-System für jeden Laserpuls lokal an einem oder mehreren Messpunkten in einer Blasenströmung und zu einem definierten Zeitpunkt die Stoffkonzentration ermittelt werden. Dazu soll ein komplettes Raman-Spektrum aufgenommen werden, so dass chemische Reaktionen mit komplexen Raman-Spektren auswertbar sind und das System hinsichtlich der Anwendbarkeit flexibel und universell einsetzbar ist. Simultan zur Aufnahme der Raman-Spektren werden die aufsteigenden Blasen und Blasenschwärme und das umgebende Strömungsfeld mit hohen Bildraten von 1000 Frames/s beobachtet, um die Trajektorie und Dynamik der aufsteigenden Blasen und insbesondere den oder die Messpunkte für die Raman-Spektroskopie relativ zur Position der Blasen in Echtzeit bestimmen zu können. Dabei wird mit dem Echtzeit-Raman-Prozess-Analyse-System mit integrierter Bildauswertung die Position der beobachteten Blase in jeder Bildaufnahme in Echtzeit bestimmt. Bezüglich der experimentellen Anordnung steht die optische Achse des Echtzeit-Prozess-Analyse-Systems senkrecht zur Strömungsrichtung der Blasen in dem Blasenkanal, so dass das System seitlich in die Versuchsanordnung integriert werden kann und eine 2D Seitenansicht der Blasen in Echtzeit aufgenommen und ausgewertet werden kann.

Als erste Anwendung wurde die CO2–Absorption untersucht. Dabei strömen CO2 und verdünnte Natronlauge als Taylor-flow in einer Glas-Kapillare mit 2 mm x 2 mm innerem Querschnitt.

Zur Konzentrationsbestimmung des CO32- wurde dessen Raman-Linie bei 1080 cm-1 und zur Normierung die H2O-Bande bei 3400 cm-1 herangezogen. Die Abbildung zeigt ein Raman-Spektrum, das mit einem einzelnen Laserpuls erzeugt wurde. Daraus können Konzentrationsprofile zwischen zwei Gasblasen bestimmt werden. Die Nachweisgrenze für CO32- beträgt in diesem Beispiel 0,07 mol/l.